My August Reads

Hi guys! I hope you’re all having a lovely bank holiday Monday, or a lovely day if you’re reading this afterwards!

At the end of last month I joined a Facebook group called ‘Wilde Readers’ set up by Youtuber and author Louise Pentland for people to discuss their favourite books. Through joining this group my love of reading was reborn, and I’ve read 3 books throughout August and have nearly finished a fourth!

This post is the start of a new monthly series where I will talk about what books I’ve read each month and summarise my thoughts.

A Game of ThronesGeorge R.R Martin

A Game of Thrones - George R.R Martin

I finished watching the TV series last month (late to the party, I know) and decided to read the first book, knowing  it would help me to understand themes to the story which I hadn’t clocked before. I loved the book and read it in the space of a week, however I also found it quite hard to get into. This was probably because I already knew the significant events which were going to happen from watching it, which made me less excited to pick the book up and carry on after a break. Having said that, I would definitely recommend it if you’re a fan of the series and want to get a more in-depth idea of the Game of Thrones world and those who live in it.

Wilde About the Girl – Louise Pentland

Wilde About the Girl - Louise Pentland

I am a huge fan of Louise as both a Youtuber and an author. Having read the first book Wilde Like Me I was highly anticipating a second. After learning of its release date I pre-ordered it and began reading it the day it arrived. Focusing on a single mother and her young daughter,  it wasn’t necessarily a book I could relate to, however I really enjoyed it. There were moments of happiness, moments of tears and it’s an easy read if you’re wanting something to get your head into for a solid day or two.

The Couple Next DoorShari Lapena

The Couple Next Door - Shari Lapena

I’ve always loved books of the crime and thriller genre, and this matches that description down to a tee. I received The Couple Next Door earlier this year for my birthday but have only just got around to reading it. I set a full day aside and managed to finish it in a matter of hours… Yes! It’s one of those ‘page turners’ that you just can’t stop reading. There were so many twists and turns right until the very end. I would certainly recommend this to anyone who enjoys the likes of Linwood Barclay and Lee Child (although you’ve probably already heard about it if this is the case)!

IngoHelen Dunmore 

Ingo - Helen Dunmore

I haven’t quite finished Ingo yet, however I feel like I know enough to talk about it briefly here. I remember being lent this book when I was younger and loving the fact it was all about mermaids and a world different from the one I live in. It is told through the eyes of Sapphire, a young girl living in Cornwall with her family, who can get to a secret world in the sea called ‘Ingo’. This is another easy read for a dull day and is part of a series – I’ll definitely be buying the second book once I’ve finished!

So that’s an insight into what I’ve read this month and a look into the sort of genres I generally go for. Have you been loving any books this month? Or have you read any of these? Let me know below and I’ll see you in my next post.

Lots of love,

Emily x

2 thoughts on “My August Reads

  1. Cheryl

    I have been trying to read GOT books after the series and I too found it so hard to get into the book! Maybe it’s because the series has painted such a vivid image in our minds on who the characters and settings are! Also, I can’t wait to read the couple next door cause I am on the look out for more crime and thriller book! Recently read the Lullaby and it was amazing, would highly recommend!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Emily Pugh Post author

      Yeah I reckon that probably is the case. I’m definitely going to try and pursue the next book and see how it goes though. I highly recommend the couple next door I was thoroughly surprised with how much I enjoyed it after first hearing mixed reviews! And thanks for the recommendation, I haven’t heard of that one I’ll have to add it to my list!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a comment